The seven energy centers - so called chakras are an integral part of human inner organization, and as such they are as important to the eastern system of Yoga as they are to the western mystical schools of self growth and self-discovery.

The seven chakras are, of course, not to be found on the physical level. This is no surprise, since here we are talking about very subtle, invisible centers of spiritual energy. Although invisible, the whole system of energy centers and energy channels is a foundation which animates our physicality, and thanks to it we consider ourselves living entities. Within this network of energy channels and energy centers there are much more than 7 chakras, but seven are the main ones. Today in the human physical body we can see a representation of these centers. If the chakras were to densify and descent to the physical level, they would be at the very same spots as the areas where the seven main glands of the endocrine system are located.

Cultivating the 7 chakras means preparing them for awakening of the so-called "serpent power" or kundalini. Thus, the chakras are sometime called kudnalini-yoga-chakras. This is the process that leads to spiritual self-realization. Kundalini is the energy that rises up the spinal cord, through the so called Sushumna channel (the most important of the 72000 energy channels within the subtle body). During this process of rising up the Kundalini, the energy centers are awakened from their inactive state and they develop their full potential. This process usually takes several incarnations and thousands of years to be fully completed.

One way or the other, spiritual awakening demands awakening of the kundalini energy. In its dormant state Kundalini is located at the base of the spine, and only a minute part of this energy is needed for maintaining our body and its functions and our normal emotional and mental processes. In the awakened state, kundalini is able to open up our consciousness toward the Cosmic consciousness, bringing us further than we have ever been able to imagine.

This evolution potential is already there, waiting within our seven chakras. Each chakra is represented by a circle of energy, and each of them plays a special role in healing and self-healing.

The seven chakras can be divided into three primary regions. The lower three chakras (root, sacral and solar plexus chakra) are very close to each other - only 10 to 15 centimeters apart, if we count them from the root of the spinal cord. The root or base chakra is opened towards the earth, connecting us with the energy of our planet, and at the same time grounding us firmly to it.

Similarly, the tree higher chakras - throat chakra, third eye and crown chakra - are closely connected to each other, governing the higher mental centers. The crown chakra is opening toward the sky, ready to receive Divine energies and higher guidance from above.

In between the two, there is the heart chakra, which joins the lower and higher chakras together. This is the area of the Sun of our microcosms.

To recapitulate we have the following chakras (The Sanskrit expression is given first):

Sahasrara - crown chakra.
Ajna - third eye chakra.
Visshuddha - throat chakra.
Anahata - hearth chakra.
Manipura - solar plexus chakra.
Svadhisthana - sacral chakra.
Muladhara - root chakra.

This is only a brief overview of the basic terms connected to the chakras. Please note that a second of practice is more useful than tons of theory on this subject. Therefore, you should try to get in touch with your spiritual teacher and start conducting a practical metaphysical work and meditative chakra techniques. At the end, as a reward, the infinite omnipresent Divine Love will be achieved through your mastering the 7 chakras.

Author's Bio: 

Read more about the 7 chakras at Olga Rezo's web site On the Sunnyray website you can also find a lot of additional information about the crystals and stones appropriate for each of the chakras. There is also general Semi precious stones information. Here, various new age meditative techniques and meditations are discussed.