Destiny Changes Based On Our Meditation
The Lord says that our current actions are a result of our past life’s karma, and hence they are bound to happen as is; we don’t have much control over it. But what is important is our meditation at that time i.e. the type of contemplation we are engaged in.

For example, one may be seated in meditation, but rather than focusing on meditation, his entire focus is on the hourglass as to how many more minutes to go to complete his meditation. And yet he claims, “I did meditation!” So here, the act of sitting in meditation was destined to happen because one had previously intended for the same. However, meditating over ‘when will one hour get over, so that I can get up and move?’ builds his future destiny, for the law of karma does not see that you are seated in mediation, it sees where your focus is!

Similarly, when a cloth merchant is very smartly cheating his clients and while doing so, he is busy contemplating, ‘how proficient I am in my business, I am earning a lot of money’; he does not realize that he is really binding his destiny for a life in hell. On the other hand, in a neighbouring shop, another merchant too happens to be cheating his customers in a similar way. But while doing so, in his mind he is condemning this act, ‘This is a wrongful act on my part. A true worshipper of Lord would never do such a thing. Oh God, I am so sorry, Please forgive me.’ Thereby, his destiny changes to something better since there is repentance in his meditation.

So, the actions of both the merchants were the same. But by bringing change in the meditation, the latter could change his destiny for good.

Let’s take yet another example. People generally praise a person making a donation. However, if we check what’s the donor’s meditation like during that time; he may furiously say, “Had the mayor not compelled me into making this donation, I would never have done so!” So, although his action was quite noble, he changed his destiny to a lower form through adverse meditation. On the other hand, an onlooker, seeing the donor donating money, feels, “How I wish I had money, I too could have donated for this noble cause then.” With such meditation, he is destined to scale upwards in life.

Thus, one builds his destiny to get born in a higher life-form, without even giving out a dime, whereas the other person inspite of donating a big chunk of money, through his meditation, changes his destiny to a lower life-form.

Types of Meditation:
Lord has said that every human being is constantly engaged in one of the four types of meditative states, namely:
3.Dharmadhyan, and

Raudra-dhyan means evil contemplation of causing injury to others and further taking pleasure in it. To meditate upon seizing other people’s happiness is called raudra-dhyan. It is a wrathful meditation! Internally getting angry, cursing someone, quarrelling, cheating are all forms of raudra-dhyan. Raudra-dhyan has dire consequences, yet owing to ignorance, it is by far the most predominant meditation in this day and age of Kaliyug.

Aarta-dhyan is the internal self-tormenting contemplation. To meditate upon pushing away what you don’t like and longing for what you like is called aarta-dhyan. Aarta-dhyan causes suffering to yourself when your destiny gives you what you don’t like and / or you don’t get what you like. For instance, it is aarta-dhyan when parents worry about the marriage of their daughter. In a way, aarta-dhyan is better than raudra-dhyan as one is not meditating upon hurting someone. Hence its consequences, although severe, are relatively less harsh than that of raudra-dhyan.

Dharma-dhyan means virtuous contemplation. Dharma-dhyan implies absence of worries and conflicts, both internal and external. This meditation is all about remaining in that which is good for all. And in case something bad happens, one does a hearty repentance before God, “Oh God, I made this mistake. Please forgive me and give me strength so that I do not repeat this mistake again.” Doing so, one reverts from aarta-dhyan and raudra-dhyan and comes into dharma-dhyan

One practicing dharma-dhyan is fearless, has patience, is worry-free and remains steadfast in adverse situations. This meditation helps bind enormous merit karma that leads to good destiny in future and a birth in higher life-form.

Shukla-dhyan is the best of all the meditations as it involves pure contemplation of the Soul. There are four stages of shukla-dhyan:
a.In the first stage, there is a vague and indistinct experience of the Soul.
b.In the second stage there is a constant, clear and distinct experience of the Soul.
c.The fully Enlightened beings are in the third stage of shukla-dhyan where they have absolute and complete knowledge (Keval Gnan) such that all that is knowable is known.
d.And in the fourth stage, it is ultimate liberation.

Thus, the consequence of shukla-dhyan is ‘ultimate liberation’ from all kinds of suffering!!!

To conclude:
We can always change our destiny through progressive meditation i.e. through Dharma-dhyan and through Shukla-dhyan. And one who aspires to get there must certainly look forward to meeting the Enlightened being, who can hold your hand and bring you out of adverse meditation, namely aarta-dhyan and dharma-dhyan, and put you onto the path of liberating meditation that of dharma-dhyan and ultimately Shukla-dhyan. This can never be achieved solely through our efforts. We need an enlightened being who enlightens our path!!!

To know more on the subject, you can also visit

Author's Bio: 

Ambalal M. Patel was a civil contractor by profession. In June 1958, spontaneous Self-Realization occurred within Ambalal M. Patel. From this point on, Ambalal became a Gnani Purush, and the Lord that manifest within him became known as Dada Bhagwan. A Gnani Purush is One who has realized the Self and is able help others do the same. Param Pujya Dada Bhagwan used to go from town to town and country-to-country to give satsang (spiritual discourse) and impart the knowledge of the Self, as well as knowledge of harmonious worldly interactions to everyone who came to meet him. This spiritual science, known as Akram Vignan, is the step-less path to Self-realization