In this article, we have organized a rundown of Official Languages of Indian States and Union Territories, alongside the Second Official Language(s).

Being one of the world's most semantically diversified nations, India has a total of 121 languages and 270 mother tongues. Keeping this in view, states in India can choose their own official language(s) through legislation.

India has two Official Languages (Hindi and English) and 22 Scheduled Languages according to the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India- - Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu- - to keep away from any obstacle to both public and exclusive issues.

List of Official Languages by States

S.No. State Official Languages Second Official Language(s)
1. Andhra Pradesh Telugu English
2. Arunachal Pradesh English -
3. Assam Assamese Bengali, Bodo
4. Bihar Hindi Urdu
5. Chhattisgarh Hindi Chhattisgarhi
6. Goa Konkani, English Marathi
7. Gujarat Gujarati Hindi
8. Haryana Hindi English, Punjabi
9. Himachal Pradesh Hindi Sanskrit
10. Jharkhand Hindi Angika, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Ho, Kharia, Khortha, Kurmali, Kurukh, Magahi, Maithili, Mundari, Nagpuri, Odia, Santali and Urdu
11. Karnataka Kannada English
12. Kerala Malayalam English
13. Madhya Pradesh Hindi -
14. Maharashtra Marathi -
15. Manipur Manipuri English
16. Meghalaya English Khasi and Garo
17. Mizoram Mizo English, Hindi
18. Nagaland English -
19. Odisha Odia -
20. Punjab Punjabi -
21. Rajasthan Hindi -
22. Sikkim English, Nepali, Sikkimese, Lepcha Gurung, Limbu, Magar, Mukhia, Newari, Rai, Sherpa and Tamang
23. Tamil Nadu Tamil English
24. Telangana Telugu Urdu
25. Tripura Bengali, English, Kokborok -
26. Uttar Pradesh Hindi Urdu
27. Uttarakhand Hindi Sanskrit
28. West Bengal Bengali, English Nepali, Urdu, Hindi, Odia, Santali, Punajbi, Kamtapuri, Rajbanshi, Kurmali, Kurukh and Telugu

List of Official Languages by Union Territories

S.No. Union Territories Official Languages Second Official Language(s)
1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands Hindi, English -
2. Chandigarh English -
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Gujarati, Konkani, Marathi, Hindi -
4. Delhi Hindi, English Urdu and Punjabi
5. Lakshadweep Malayalam English
6. Jammu and Kashmir Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi, Urdu, English -
7. Ladakh Hindi, English -
8. Puducherry Tamil, French, English Telugu and Malayalam

These were the Official Languages of Indian States and Union Territories. The students appearing for various competitive examinations are advised to go through the above-mentioned list thoroughly.

Author's Bio: 

CBSE Schools in Thane - SVPT GB.In this article, we have curated a list of Official Languages of Indian States and Union Territories, along with the Second Official Language.Visit to Know more about Saraswati School Ghodbunder Road Thane.