No, the number of Souls in the world always remains constant.

There are 3 divisions:

1.Liberated Souls in Siddha-Kshetra. They have already reached the stage of ultimate salvation, and therefore, have left this world forever. They are liberated from the worldly bondages and hence have no reason to come back in this world. They stay in a location named Siddh Kshetra, which is outside this world. There only liberated Souls reside!
2.Souls in the World. These are living beings, from one-sensed to five-sensed and upto human, whom we can see in this world. These beings are in the bondage of karma; and as they develop, more and more coverings over the Soul shed off.

3.Dormant Souls in Nigod. Before the living being enters into the worldly cycle, it is lying in a dormant stage where not a single sense has been developed yet because of the dense layers of coverings of karma sitting over the Soul. Not a single ray of light of knowledge of Soul is able to come out. Such living beings are called Nigod. There are infinite number of such Souls who have not entered the world so far.

There are infinite Souls in Siddh-Kshetra who are totally liberated and there are infinite Souls in Nigod who are in complete bondage so far. When one Soul from this world attains liberation and moves out of this world, right in that moment, one Soul from the Nigod comes out of its dormant stage of total coverings and makes an entry into this world as a one-sensed living being.

Hence, the number of Souls present in the world always remains constant. They neither increase nor decrease by even one count.

At this stage, a question that arises in one’s mind is that:
While world’s population is increasing at a galloping rate, where are these Souls coming from?

We already saw how the journey of every Soul takes place –
•from Nigod into the world and
•from world to out of the world, in Siddh Kshetra!
Now, what is the journey of the Soul like, when in the world?

Let’s have a look....
When one Soul attains liberation, a little covering from over the Soul of one of the living being in Nigod gets removed, wherefrom little light of Soul comes out; and thus one sense is developed. With this, the particular living being begins his journey into this world, and gradually develops from one-sensed to two-sensed, then three-sensed, four sensed, five-sensed and then comes into human life-form where his mind, intellect, ego gets developed. This evolution process takes countless of years!

And in human form too, one takes birth number of times and gradually develops life after life. When in human form, one has freedom to bind all types of karma. It is only as human that one can bind new karma; in rest all life-forms, one goes only to settle the karmic accounts thereafter. If he has bound bad karma, he is compelled to take birth in the lower life-forms i.e. in animal kingdom or maybe even in hell. And if one has bound extra-ordinary good karma, one takes birth as a celestial being and passes lifetime amidst great luxuries and comforts! Once the karmas of animal, celestial or hell are over, one returns back in human form and continues his development.

So when we say the world population is increasing, we generally take into account the count of human beings alone. However living beings exist in all life-forms. The total number of Souls takes into account the number of all living beings put together, which as we said above, is always constant. There can never be any fluctuation in this number, such precise is the law of Nature!

Thus the number of the Souls is the same, but they could be in any of the four different forms - human, animal, celestial, or hell! Eg. A human may go to animal kingdom or the celestial world or hell. If there are more humans on Earth, it means there are lesser animals or lesser celestial beings, etc. Going to animal, celestial, or hell life-form is just a result of the karmas good and bad karmas made by the human being. He suffers happiness or sadness and then comes back to human.

Ultimately, when one attains Self-Realization, his worldly development completes there. After Self-Realization, new karmas stop being charged; and when discharge of all old karmas finish, one attains liberation!

Thus, the journey of every Soul
1.begins from a total dormant stage where there is no knowledge or no vision of the Soul to be seen (due to complete covering over the Soul),
2.and then it comes into this world, where one develops from one-sensed to five-sensed living being and evolves upto human form, and continues to develop thereafter,
3.until it finally attains liberation from the cycle of birth and death and leaves the world forever!
To attain liberation is the ultimate goal of every Soul. For this, we must know really who am I?

When Gnani Purush gives us knowledge of the Self and makes us realize that ‘I am really a Pure Soul’, we attain Self-Realization. The body, name, fame, family, and wealth do not belong to us forever; they are temporary entities. But what remains forever, even in the next birth is the Pure Soul. Hence this is what really I am!

Presently, we are fortunate to have amongst us Gnani Purush to salve us and take us to ultimate liberation! For more details, you may visit

Author's Bio: 

Ambalal M. Patel was a civil contractor by profession. In June 1958, spontaneous Self-Realization occurred within Ambalal M. Patel. From this point on, Ambalal became a Gnani Purush, and the Lord that manifest within him became known as Dada Bhagwan. A Gnani Purush is One who has realized the Self and is able help others do the same. Param Pujya Dada Bhagwan used to go from town to town and country-to-country to give satsang (spiritual discourse) and impart the knowledge of the Self, as well as knowledge of harmonious worldly interactions to everyone who came to meet him. This spiritual science, known as Akram Vignan, is the step-less path to Self-realization.