Duleep Trophy is a famous Cricket competition in domestic Cricket. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named the tournament after the legendary cricketer, KS Duleep Singh. According to the original format of the tournament, there were a number of five teams, drawn from the five zones - North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. The teams played each other on a knockout basis and the BCCI decided to convert the tournament to a league format, from 1993-1994.
For more visit: https://www.indianetzone.com/29/duleep_trophy_indian_cricket.htm

Author's Bio: 

Duleep Trophy is a first class cricket competition, which is played among the teams representing different geographical zones in India.