The Buddhist, Hindu and Muslim dynasties have ruled Karnataka successively. Jainism too established its roots here. It is said that India's first emperor of Maurya Empire Chandragupta Maurya converted to Jainism in the 4th century. He renounced his throne and fasted to death at Sravanabelagola and now one of the famous pilgrimage centres of Jainism.

For more visit:

Author's Bio: 

History of Karnataka comprised of the different rulers of different dynasties of various religions like Hindus, Buddhists, and later the Muslims.