In a society that’s seemingly dominated by western medicine and Big Pharma companies, it comes as no surprise that the effectiveness of historic wellness practices like yoga and meditation are often doubted or misunderstood. Chakras, for example, reach back long before the existence of modern technology and science, yet are often considered nonsense by those who don’t fully understand how relevant and influential these energy centers actually are.

However, by learning about each chakra and the importance of maintaining balance between these seven energy sources, you can develop a deeper understanding and appreciation for these and other holistic wellness practices.

What are chakras?
An old Sanskrit word meaning “wheel,” chakras refer to the energy life force that moves inside the human body. This life force, also known as prana, has seven energy centers throughout your body. When balanced, these chakras - that reach from the base of your spine to the top of your head - are able to channel just the right amount of energy to every aspect of your mind, body, and spirit. Chakras that are unbalanced or spinning too quickly, however, often result in diminished health.

The Importance of Balanced Chakras
While understanding the functionality of each chakra is important, it’s also helpful to know why each chakra needs to be balanced and what happens when an imbalance occurs. Beginning with the Root chakra below the genitals, and ending with The Crown chakra above the crown of the head, the following chakra chart will help shed light on the importance of maintaining balance within each of the seven chakras.

The Root - Muladhara
The Root chakra lies below the genitals and is one of three energy centers of the physical body. As the chakra that connects to the Earth Element, the muladhara directly corresponds with your natural survival instincts and critical emotions like fear. An imbalanced Root chakra results in a skewed sense of survival, security, and primal energy. Along with using essential oils like St. John’s Wort and Frankincense, you can maintain Root balance by massaging the gluteal muscles, legs, and feet to encourage energy flow.

The Sacral - Svadhisthana
Located in your lower abdomen, the Sacral chakra is responsible for triggering emotional issues like the sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality. An imbalance of the Sacral chakra often negatively affects relationships, sensuality, and intimacy. By releasing tension in the hip flexors and using essential oils like Orange, Clove, Juniper, and Rosemary, you can sustain a healthy, well-balanced Sacral chakra.

The Solar Plexus - Manipura
As the third and final energy center of the physical body, the Solar Plexus chakra closely corresponds with the emotions like anger and, when properly balanced, is responsible for controlling energies like desire, vitality, inner strength, and self-control. A Solar Plexus chakra that is spinning too fast can often negatively affect physical aspects like your digestive system and emotional issues like self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem. Ensure your Solar Plexus chakra is balanced by massaging essential oils like Lemon, Rosemary, and Peppermint in a clockwise motion around your navel.

The Heart - Anahata
As the first of two energy centers in the Emotional Body, the Heart chakra is found in the middle of the chest and corresponds with feelings of love, forgiveness, compassion, and self-esteem. Emotions of love and devotion often take a toll when your Heart chakra is imbalanced, which is why it’s important to use methods like upper back and chest massages to help open this critical chakra region. You can also implement the use of oils like Rosewood, Basil, and Rose to assist in maintaining a balanced Heart chakra.

The Throat - Vishuddha
The Throat chakra is the energy center for creativity, speech, and individual needs. Known for its purity, having a balanced Throat chakra helps maintain honest, open, and expressive communication. Prevent an imbalance with gentle neck massages and oils like Lemongrass, Sage, and Blue chamomile.

The Third Eye - Ajna
As the second to last of the body’s chakras, the Third Eye rests between the eyebrows. As the only chakra in the mental body, the Third Eye is the command center for things like intuition, insight, and mental awareness. A balanced Third Eye chakra is critical when it comes to controlling positive thoughts of the individual self and inner perception. Facial massages that focus on the jaw area, temples, and sinus regions, as well as essential oils like Sage, Spruce, and Lavender can all benefit a well-balanced Third Eye chakra.

The Crown - Sahasrara
Lastly, the Crown chakra directly correlates with higher consciousness, enlightenment, and inspiration. This Head Center chakra, located above the crown of the head, helps keep a balanced perception of inner and outer beauty. When spinning too fast, the Crown chakra can hinder you from making spiritual connections or experiencing feelings of pure bliss. Keep your Crown chakra balanced with frequent scalp massages and the use of oils like Sandalwood, Myrrh, and Geranium.

As you can see, it is most important to keep your chakras well-balanced in order to maintain optimum health and wellness. Without maintaining an overall positive energy, life can be thrown off balance by some of the smallest setbacks, but now that you better understand the chakras you are ready to receive positive energy from the world!

Author's Bio: 

Jana Hoff is a certified Emotion Code practitioner that specializes in the art of energy healing and self-fulfillment. When not helping others find true peace for themselves, you can usually find her doing yoga or spending time with her family. Follow Jana for more articles on intuition, energy healing and love.