There are six eternal elements in this Universe. The Soul is one of them!
The Soul indeed is pure in nature and has infinite knowledge of each and every thing and of each and every period of time in this Universe.

Like Soul, Matter too is an eternal element. When these two elements come close to each other, it automatically gives rise to an extra attribute (vibhaav), following which large number of particles of karma happen to cover the Soul all over the place.

This is a natural phenomenon!
Just as when iron and moisture come together, rust covers the iron completely, no one has caused it, it happens naturally. Similarly when the elements of Soul and matter come together, karma covers the Soul completely, no one has caused it, it happens naturally.

Please visit

The Soul and the Matter, having come close to each other, the living being comes into existence.
The Soul when covered with the karmas is called a living being. But even then, the Soul inside is in its complete pure state!!! All the properties of the Soul, including the property of infinite knowledge and infinite bliss, remain absolutely intact.

However, due to the thick layers of karma sitting over the Soul, not a single ray of light of knowledge of the Pure Soul is able to come out. And hence the living being experiences sheer darkness of ignorance in life.

From here, begins the journey of the living being.
1.Dormant State:
The living being is in a total dormant state and has not entered in this material world as yet. Such living beings are infinite in number. And as per Jainism, they are called Nigod.

2.Active State: non-human birth
When the covering of karma reduces a bit such that little light of Soul comes out, one-sense opens up. This is how the living being enters in the material world as a one-sensed living being.

With the help of the energy gained from the higher developed beings, it develops from one-sensed to two-sensed living being, from two-sensed to three-sensed living being, from three-sensed to four-sensed, and four-sensed to five-sensed living being. At every stage, the living being goes through enormous suffering though, owing to the load of karma. These coverings of karma on the Soul keep reducing as the development of the living being takes place.

3.Active State: human birth
Finally, the living being develops into human form, where along with five senses, his mind, intellect, ego are also developed. When in human form, one creates new causes (karmas) with the help of mind, intellect and ego. Based on these causes, the living being reincarnates in either celestial, human, animal or hell realms; and in each life, suffers the effects of the causes made.

Outer body keeps changing form life after life, but the Soul within remains in its pure natural form
Just like gold, silver and copper, each retain their original intrinsic properties even when in different forms of ornaments; in living beings, Soul and Matter retain their original intrinsic properties at the elemental level during the infinite lifecycles that it passes through as a living being.

And that is why, it is possible to separate the two within an hour. Yes, in Akram Vignan, the Living Gnani, with His divine, spiritual powers burns out the deluding karmas sitting on the Soul through infinite lives and brings us into the awareness of ‘I am a Pure Soul’ in just about an hour’s time. Thereafter, following the teachings of Gnani, as we learn to remain in this awareness more and more, we are able to finish all our karmas with equanimity.

An Absolute Soul (without any karma on it) is called Siddha and is revered in Jainism
When the Soul becomes totally free of all karmas, it moves to Siddhkshetra or Siddhshila (the location at the crest of the Universe where all absolutely liberated Souls reside). It is the last development, and that verily is our ultimate goal of existence. Since there is no element of Matter in Siddhkshetra, the Siddha (liberated Soul) resides there forever.

This is how the journey of Soul happens in a living being - from a total dormant stage to a one-sensed living being and evolves right upto human form; then, on meeting Gnani, finally liberates. Travelling through this journey of development, the living being passes through countless of births in each life form and owing to the darkness of ignorance, goes through enormous sufferings while experiencing the effects of karma.
It is imperative that at least in this birth, we meet Gnani and with His grace attain Self-Realization.

The Soul is our real Self...
Therefore, the curiosity to learn more and more about our real Self is very natural and justified.
We are fortunate that today, we have amongst us Pujya Deepakbhai, the Living Gnani, to whom you can directly ask your questions regarding Soul and how to liberate our Soul, and get a precise answer in a simple and lucid language, that is easy to understand!!!

Author's Bio: 

Ambalal M. Patel was a civil contractor by profession. In June 1958, spontaneous Self-Realization occurred within Ambalal M. Patel. From this point on, Ambalal became a Gnani Purush, and the Lord that manifest within him became known as Dada Bhagwan. A Gnani Purush is One who has realized the Self and is able help others do the same. Param Pujya Dada Bhagwan used to go from town to town and country-to-country to give satsang (spiritual discourse) and impart the knowledge of the Self, as well as knowledge of harmonious worldly interactions to everyone who came to meet him. This spiritual science, known as Akram Vignan, is the step-less path to Self-realization.