Do people often wonder what are navgraha? The Navgraha or the nine planets have been mentioned in the ancient Vedas of the Indian rich history. These nine planets include seven planets of the solar system along with two others namely Rahu and Ketu which apparently became a part of the planetary system by trickery. The position of the planets at the given time has a profound influence on the lives of people as they are the keeper of the karmic accounts of the past, present and the future lives of people. These nine planets are diligently worshipped in Hinduism to bring about success, peace, prosperity, and luck and to help in disseminating effects of navagraha causing difficult situations in life due to past life karmas or certain doshas.

According to Hindu Astrology, the navagraha positions affect the lives of people tremendously including the good and the bad happening as well as the positive and the negative impacts, and more. This is all due to the specific positioning of the planets in the birth chart and all these planets are considered as deities and worshipped for pain removal and remedies for problems in life. Special attention is paid to the Sani, Rahu and Ketu position in the birth chart as their unfavourable position might bring hardship and sorrow in life, hence astrological remedial methods are applied to ward off the kundli dosh and other negative influence.
A brief description of all the Navagraha is provided below:
1. Sun (Surya): The sun also known as Ravi, is considered as the most majestic planets among all the nine. He is depicted facing east with all the other planets surrounding him. His vehicle is a chariot with one wheel which is pulled by seven horses symbolizing the seven colors of white light and seven days of the week.
2. Moon (Chandra): This god is never shown as a complete embody, only the upper body is visible which comprises two hands holding a lotus each. He rides a chariot pulled by 10 horses.
3. Mars (Mangala): Mangala is a Fierce God who is depicted holding two weapons and other two in mudras. His rides a ram.
4. Mercury (Budha): The lord Budha is shown having four hands; out of which, three hold a sword, a shield, and a mace and the fourth hand is in a mudra and riding on a chariot or Lion
5. Jupiter (Brihaspathi): He is considered as the teacher of Gods and he is shown sitting on a chariot pulled by 8 horses, they depict 8 branches of knowledge each.
6. Venus (Sukra): The god Sukra is named the teacher of the Demons. He has four hands of which three of his hands hold a staff, a rosary, a vessel of gold and the fourth hand is in a mudra. Also, he rides on a chariot pulled by 8 horses.
7. Sani (Saturn): Sani is a god who influences the fortunes of people by his planetary position because of which individuals fear him. He is shown riding on a chariot or a buffalo or even a vulture. His three hands are shown holding an arrow, a bow, and a javelin while his other hand is held in a mudra.
8. Rahu: He is similar to Budha (Mercury) but both Gods have fundamental nature difference. He is shown riding a black lion, but just like Budha, he holds all the same weapons.
9. Ketu: In Sanskrit, Ketu stands for a comet. His body is somewhat like a tail of a serpent and his nature is much like that of a comet. He is shown riding a vulture and holding a mace.
In order to appease these navagrahas, there are certain navgraha mantras that are chanted by the worshippers to ward off all the negativities and obstacles in their lives as well as to remove all kinds of kundli doshas to live a happy and prospering life.

Author's Bio: 

Astrologer Ankit Sharma is one of the best and very popular astrologers in India and worldwide. He provides excellence solution related to astrology and life problems. He writes helpful and relevant articles and blogs on astrology science and numerology.