ISHTA DEVTA (Kul and ishtadevta)

Ishtadevta or KulDevata is considered as the God and Goddess prayed to by the family, by belief. KulDevata is believed the God to whom the family would do prayer before any auspicious occasion is done at home: like marriage, UpanayanSanskar etc. Kula Devata cannot be replaced by IshtaDevata as IshtaDevata can be precise to each person, even in a family or a society.Astrologers say IshtaDevata is the individualDivinity who guides the soul to its real home- Moksha. According to Vedic Astrology everyone needs to essentially search through relatives to find the KulDevata, While IshtaDevta can be find out from your Horoscope only.


According to Vedic astrology everyone should worship of one's IshtaDevata and at least for this you are advised to know yourIshtaDevata. The procedure for worshipping of your lshtaDevta is simple and is based on the chanting of the related Mantras for the suitable Devata. A classicDvadakshari Mantra for Lord Vishnu as IshtaDevata is given by the Parashara Sage in his Vishnu Purana as follows: Om namobhagavatevasudevayanamah.

It is said that IshtaDevata is also the individual Deity who guides the soul to its real home--Moksha. The key role in enlightening one’sIshtaDevata plays the Atma Karaka. Astrologers say that Atma Karaka is the planet that has the highest longitude in one's horoscope. So if you want to find out your IshtaDevata you have to look at the Atma Karaka planet in Navamsa, meanwhile the Navamsa shows blessings of God onto the person and the way in which the native communicates with God. And Navamsa is also known as the dharma-amsa, since it is the 9th division (9th house signifies dharma). So we should look for IshtaDevata in this Varga.


As per BhagyaSamhita rules, Atma Karaka is the planet that has the highest longitude in one's natal Chart. Atma Karaka in Navamsa is named the "Karakamsa". The 12th from the Karakamsacontrols the "IsthaDevata". The 12th house from the karakamsa is named the "Jivanmuktamsa". This is the house which suggests the freedom of the soul and thus we have to observe this house in order to find your IshtaDevata and if there is a Graha in the Jivanmuktamsa, it indicates the Devata. If there are more Grahas than one, we select the strongest. If there is no Graha in the Jivanmuktamsa, we can see whether any Grahas are inspecting the 12th. If no Grahas aspect it, we can take the 12th Lord as IshtaDevata.In the chapter called "kaarakaamsaphala" in BPHS, Parasarastated the deities adored based on the planets in the 12th from kaarakaamsha. For example, Sun in 12th from Atma Karaka shows a believer of Shiva and Moon in 12th from Atma Karaka shows a worshipper of MaaGouri.

Here are given the rulingdivinities for each planet who can be your IshtaDevata as per your Horoscope.

• The Sun—Vishnu, Rama, Shiva

• Moon—Krishna, Shiva, Parvati

• Mars—Hanuman, Subramanya, Sri Narasimha

• Mercury-- Vishnu

• Jupiter-- Vishnu, Sri Vamana, Dattatreya, Sai Baba

• Venus-- Maha Lakshmi, Parashurama, MaaGouri

• Saturn-- ShaniDev, Hanuman, Kurma, Shiva, Vishnu

• Rahu—MaaDurga, Varaha

• Ketu—Ganesh, Matasya

• Ascendent—Kalki

Author's Bio: 

Jyotishacharya Vinay Sheel Saxena "Bajrangi" “Bhagya Samhita wale” is a well known indian Vedic Astrologer Horoscope reader and Vastu expert and provides best vedic astrology solutions, vastu remedies, astrology forecast Horoscope matching and other astrological solutions.