Well, it's YOGA time for me on this fine evening. I can't procrastinate anymore! It's one of those evenings where I'd rather take a large comforter, a large bowl of Sea Salted Popcorn and snuggle up to my favorite show. BUT, I so need to do some stretching!

Hatha Style Yoga is my favorite and it wasn't long ago I decided to join a group of gals for one night to do this style of yoga, together. I normally like to be on my own while doing yoga because many a times (especially if a few days go by without me doing yoga) while my poses look pretty good, my face expresses another sort of communication: "I'm in pain!". Well, it's my fault because I push myself and extend myself to the max. My motto will always be "no pain, no gain". I need to work on that.

Anyway, back to Yoga. Amongst the women that night there was a very special and seasoned Yogian who began to give us more insight into our poses. I thought, well, what kind of insight could there be? I'll I know is there are names for these poses and some of them really don't like me, nor I them! But, I was curious. After our session, this woman proceeded to say that each pose correlates to a chakra. And, if the poses are difficult to do, then your chakra is out of balance. What that means is there is an imbalance within your body; emotionally, psychologically, spiritually. Well now, THAT is interesting! I listened on and stopped to take notes! Little did I know I would be read like an open book! Needless to say some of my Chakras were out of whack!

A Little Review...

There are 7 Chakras: Base/1st Chakra is Red (base of your spine), 2nd Chakra is Orange (lower abdominal/Genitals and womb), 3rd Chakra is Yellow (mid section/belly), 4th Chakra is Green (Heart area), 5th Chakra is Blue (sky blue- the throat area), 6th Chakra is Indigo (Third Eye Area- middle of your forehead) and 7th Chakra is Purple (located just above the head active by the Pituitary Gland). The poses representing these Chakras are listed below (there are more poses for each Chakra, I'm giving one example from that evening):

1st Chakra - Bridge Pose opens up this Chakra

2nd Chakra - The Cobra Pose opens up this Chakra

3rd Chakra - The Bow Pose opens this Chakra

4th Chakra - The Camel Pose opens this Chakra

5th Chakra - The Fish Pose

6th Chakra - Seated Yoga Mudra

7th Chakra - Seated Meditation

NOW, how does it all come together?

1st Chakra - gives us a lot of information about all that is basic: Food, survival, security, sex. When this Chakra is out of balance for a good long time obesity is one result. It is a Chakra which governs the immune system, the colon, the rectum, bones, blood, feet, legs and people can be experiencing problems in these areas. Emotionally, and if people are having problems with this pose (without the onslaught of the physical ailments) in particular, it can reveal that you do not feel grounded and secure in life. Insecure, fearful, even full blown paranoia. Connecting with people is also difficult when this Chakra is unbalanced. Becoming 'pushy', 'greedy' and 'insensitive to others' is also a very common trait.

2nd Chakra - represents your kidney and bladder, emotions, sexuality, desire, pleasure, creation and procreation. Socialization is also a function of the 2nd chakra and opening up and 'going with the flow' in life. When out of balance nurturing, sexuality and pleasure is out of balance. Note: over indulgence or no activity in these areas can lead to this Chakra from being balanced. When balanced there is enjoyment of good food, good sex, and creativity is opened up! If there is no nurturing, nourishment, warmth or touch, this Chakra is also most likely unbalanced. So, if you can't do the yoga pose for the 2nd Chakra, you know what's out of balance.

3rd Chakra - Represents glands and body systems as it affects are the pancreas, adrenals, digestive system, and muscles. When it malfunctions, the resulting problems are ulcers, diabetes, and/or hypoglycemia. This area emotionally represents a person's sense of belonging. If it's open, the person feels a connection with themselves and everything around them. If this Chakra is closed, this yoga pose will be difficult. What's more, there will be emotional blocks. This person is blocking from feeling anything and would not understand the deeper meanings of emotions - of themselves or others.

Also, highly sensitive people can be prone to psychic attacks if left unbalanced- it must be protected at all costs.

4th Chakra - represents the thymus, lungs, heart, arms, hands. Physically speaking, when there is a problem in this Chakra, physical problems such as high blood pressure, heart disease, lung disease and asthma results. Emotionally, it's all about loving oneself and being loved. Feeling that one can love and love oneself! Accepting the magical wonder of life and oneself in it~! When there is no joy in a person's life, this chakra is effected.

5th Chakra - represents the throat area. And as you might expect it rules communication and creativity. The thyroid and parathyroid are effected directly along with the neck, shoulder, arms and hands, mouth, upper lungs and ears. When imbalanced, along with difficulty with this yoga pose, we can experience vocal problems physically and emotionally a fear of speaking can manifest. Also the fear of standing up for oneself is affected and biting back our words and swallowing our beliefs without full expression. Also, stuttering, speech impediments and laryngitis, TMJ, teeth grinding, bleeding gums, teeth problems can also result. What's next? Well all this can lead to self-confidence issues, self-beliefs are distorted or negative, self-love almost non-existent as the need to express is not being honored. We begin to loose ourselves in others at this point causing greater imbalance and pain. We are no longer able to say “no” to other’s voices because we are no longer able to hear our own inner voice!

6th Chakra- representing our third eye, sinus and visual center. When unbalanced there can be sinus problems, headaches, depression, nightmares, lack of clarity, over analyzing situations, confusion, psychological problems and panic attacks. Lacking energy can create disorganization, lack of artistic imagination, accuracy, and unity. An unbalance here can make this Yoga Pose difficult to accomplish with ease.

7th Chakra - representing our pituitary gland, cerebral cortex and central nervous system. The result of imbalance shows itself by depression, apathy, confusion, boredom, inability to learn or comprehend and alienation.

There is so much more we learned that night on how to create balance through gems, herbs, food and so on. Too broad to cover in this hub. It has helped me in recognizing how everything really does work together as a whole to create what we call wellness. If we only look to one area, we really can miss out on other seemingly unrelated areas.

Well, enough procrastinating! I'm off to see if my certain Yoga Position can be done with ease today. If not, there is more work for me to do...

Author's Bio: 

Please visit www.lilianeden.com